Seven photographs that changed the fashion

So I just finished watching a BBC show called “Seven Photographs that Changed Fashion”. The show takes us through British fashion photography Rankin recreation of seven of his favourite fashion images. He first does it with the technology of the day and then with the equipment he is currently using when he shoots. Everything from Cecil Beaton’s 1934 “Hat Box” with Sophie Ellis-Bextor, as the model, I’m so in love with Sophie, to more modern images such as Herb Ritt’s “Fred with Tires”.

The behind the scenes stuff is very funny especially he’s banter with David Bailey, Rankin is a fantastic photography but without a doubt you can tell he was just a tad intimidated by David Bailey as we all would be I think. You can see the individual recreations here at the Daily Telegraphs site. If you have access to it I’d highly recommend catching the show, its a nice break from all the fashion reality shows that I deny I watch. Really I dont watch any of them. 😉

Leave a comment